God loves “Real” Food (here’s why…)

real food

God loves real food. There, I said it.  And I stand by what I said.  Let me explain myself, for those of you who are currently scratching their heads and wondering, What is she talking about this time.  By God, I mean, well, God.  Creator of the universe.  By real food, I mean…food in it’s most natural state.  Food produced and naturally found in nature, NOT produced in a lab somewhere. Why does He love real food?  The most obvious reason would be for the simple fact that He made it!

You see, real food was what God made for people to eat.  Duh, you might be saying right about now.  But the thing is, we don’t.  We’ve gotten away from eating real, honest-to-goodness food.  Don’t believe me?  Walk around a grocery store (almost any grocery store will do) and read the ingredients label.  Chances are what you find will NOT be natural ingredients, but things like THIAMINE MONONITRATE.  Thiamine what?  Now I don’t know about you, but I have never heard about a thiamine mononitrate tree.  I’m pretty certain that one does not exist.  So it’s fairly safe to say that thiamine mononitrate is an ingredient existing outside of nature.  The other thing you will find is sugar, in levels far beyond what is healthy or recommended.

Let us examine the ingredient label for Kellogg’s Nutrigrain Bars, which are supposed to be a “healthy” snack.

nutrigrain

Filling (High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn Syrup, Strawberry Puree Concentrate, Glycerin, Sugar, Water, Sodium Alginate, Modified Corn Starch, Citric Acid, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Sodium Citrate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Methylcellulose, Caramel Color, Malic Acid, Red No. 40), Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate [Vitamin B1], Riboflavin [Vitamin B2], Folic Acid), Whole Wheat Flour, Sunflower and/or Soybean Oil with TBHQ for Freshness, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sugar, Contains Two Percent or Less of Honey, Dextrose, Calcium Carbonate, Soluble Corn Fiber, Nonfat Dry Milk, Wheat Bran, Salt, Cellulose, Potassium Bicarbonate (Leavening), Natural and Artificial Flavor, Mono- and Diglycerides, Propylene Glycol Esters of Fatty Acids, Soy Lecithin, Wheat Gluten, Niacinamide, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Carrageenan, Zinc Oxide, Reduced Iron, Guar Gum, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Thiamin Hydrochloride (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid.

When listed individually, are these ingredients you want to be consuming?  Would you let your kids eat anything on that list?  How many times can you find SUGAR listed on the ingredients list?  (Here’s a clue…the first couple ingredients are actually sugar, and if you look carefully you’ll find sugar hidden under different names throughout.)  You may also note Kellogg’s use of an artificial dye-Red No. 40.  Raise your hand if you pledge never to eat another Nutrigrain bar for the rest of your life…I know I have mine raised.

Why does mankind feel the need to mess with the perfect food source that God created specifically for us?  We arrogantly assume that we can perfect something that is already perfect.  Our society is so consumed with losing weight that we’ve invented “foods”* that are “low-fat”, “no-fat” and “low-calorie”. We’ve largely gotten away from eating fruits and vegetables, or when we do we think we need to sweeten them up.  (Which is laughable, as fruit has naturally occurring sugar.)  So why, then, are Americans fatter than ever?

overweight

In my weight-loss journey, I have tried many a diet.  And diets don’t work. Oh, don’t get me wrong-they do for a time.  Weight watchers was fabulous and I dropped about 30 lbs, but then gained it all back and more with my subsequent pregnancy.  If you really want to lose weight, and keep it off-you need to make a change that is sustainable.  Something that not only works now, but will continue to work five years from now.

You know what I did?  I prayed about it.  Yes, I prayed about losing weight.  I asked God to help me do it His way, because my way clearly wasn’t working (as is typically the case).  It was after one of these prayers that I stumbled upon the book 100 Days of Real Food by Lisa Leake (she also conveniently maintains a website under the same name, 100daysofrealfood.com).  I was intrigued by the concept: cutting out overly-processed, artificial foods, and making everything myself from whole food ingredients.  And then my brain made the connection.  It made sense.  Eating naturally-occurring foods made by God to be in the body God designed me to have.  Duh.  It took me 33 years to figure this out (which is most likely because I am stubborn and had tried to do things my way up to this point-had I simply asked God sooner, I could have avoided much of the trial and error that led me to this point).

100days

And you know what else?  It’s working. I’ve lost weight.  A considerable amount, and I’m not done yet.  Even more exciting is all this new-found energy.  I feel great!  It’s like if your body was a car, and you’d been filling it up with the cheap gas for years.  Then one day you switch to premium, and wow!  You notice how much better your car is running and how many more miles per gallon you’re getting.  Cars run better on better fuel.  So do bodies.

Once again, God to the rescue, solving my life problems.  Maybe next time I could just remember to ask for guidance a little bit sooner…

 

*I use the term “food” for lack of a better term.

2 thoughts on “God loves “Real” Food (here’s why…)

  1. This is a great write up on the importance of real food. Food that God had intended for all of us survive on when he created the world for us to live in. My question is what are your thoughts on GMOs?

    Like

    1. Dan-Thanks for checking out my blog! In general, I try to avoid GMOs. Since they normally would not exist in nature, I view them as yet another example of man “trying to play God”, if you will (kind of like cloning, in a way, which I equally can’t get behind). In lots of cases, just because we can doesn’t mean we should. Basically, if it’s not found in nature (naturally), I try not to consume it (which is hard, because it is now estimated that a large portion of America’s corn crop and 90% of the soy bean crop are now GM). Also, a lot of the companies producing GM food (like Monsanto) are unethical and not concerned with the well-being of the consumers of their product, in my opinion. There are still a lot of unknowns when it comes to GM food. What are your thoughts?

      Like

Leave a Reply

