DIY Chicken Stock w/ a Special Guest Appearance by DIY Hubby

Since switching to a mostly-whole food diet, I’ve had to spend a bit more time in the kitchen.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, I like to cook, and it gives me a chance to teach my kids about healthy eating.  (Those girls are budding bakers!)  Because let’s face it, if you want whole, healthy food, you pretty much need to do it yourself.  (It’s the only way to know what’s really going into your food.)

So the other day I made a whole chicken in my crock-pot (see recipe below-I adapted it slighlty from the 100 Days of Real Food recipe as the original was a little too spicy for my family’s liking).  Every time I make a whole chicken, I like to follow-up by making a nice, large crockpot full of chicken broth (waaaay better than you can buy in a store-and no chemicals!!).

broth

I then strain the broth through a doubled-cheesecloth to make sure the bones, fat, etc. doesn’t end up getting stored in the broth (which I just freeze and take out as needed).  Anyway, there I was, attempting to strain my broth, when DIY hubby comes up with a brilliant idea.  Using our daughters’ hair ties, he constructs a giant elastic to hold my cheesecloth in place.  It worked WONDERFULLY.  (I think he might be a distant cousin to MacGyver-he will neither confirm nor deny.)  Love being married to a handy-man.

ties

strainer

CROCKPOT CHICKEN

  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 large or 2 medium onions
  • 1 chicken ( 3 to 5 lbs)
  1. Chop onion and line the crockpot with the onion, using it as a base for the chicken.
  2. Mix the dried spices together.
  3. Wash chicken and pat dry.  Make sure giblets are removed.  Rub chicken with the spices, making sure the entire mixture gets applied.  Place chicken in the crockpot, breast-side down.
  4. Cook on LOW for 7-8 hours, or HIGH for 4 hours (I am a big fan of the slow-cook on low, but to each their own)

PRINT

One thought on “DIY Chicken Stock w/ a Special Guest Appearance by DIY Hubby

Leave a Reply

