Day 3: The Original Waterfall French Braid

And we are on to Day 3 of the 30 Day Hair Challenge! I am aware that they have not been consecutive days, but life happens.  For Day 3, I chose the Original Waterfall French Braid, which is SUPER cute.  I was really hoping I could pull this off, because WOW is this adorable!  Notoriously, my hair “skills” (we’ll call them skills for lack of a better term) have not always been up to par.  Thus the 30 Day Hair Challenge: I aim to fix that!  Just like my art teacher used to tell me in college: Art is 10% talent, 90% practice.  That applies to hair, too, right?

So the Original Waterfall French Braid is supposed to look like this:

Waterfall Braid Hairstyles

Holy cuteness!  I started with my oldest daughter’s hair.  Did NOT even attempt this with my middle daughter as she has medium-thin hair, and she is 2.  Her attention span is about 1 minute max.

I did T’s hair for preschool, here is the 1st attempt:

day3-T-take1a

Day3-T-take1b

As you can see I have the waterfall strands, but then I realized that I had forgot to add in strands on the top.  Oops!  So I went back to the drawing board, and tried again when T returned home from preschool.

day3-T-take2

This one was a little better, but I still need to work on getting my lines straighter!  I think I just need to get better at French braiding, in general, and that will help my overall hair game.

So in light of this, I am dedicating Day 4 of the 30-Day Hair Challenge to the Traditional French Braid.  You can’t run before you walk, right?  I am going to master this thing if it kills me-and it just may!

My 2-year old was kind enough to let me get a head start and start practicing on her:

Day3-viv

For me, this is not a bad day’s work…plus you need to factor in that she was wiggling around the whole time!

I am going to get this posted plus try to upload a recipe that I made over the weekend (today-if my kids will stay asleep for another 20 minutes or so)!

Cheers!

Katie

PS If you have little girls and are looking for an AMAZING site with tons of ideas, check out cutegirlshairstyles.com, you won’t be disappointed!  I stumbled over it on Pinterest, and this site is a gold mine.  Plus, no more searching through Pinterest trying to find worthwhile tutorials, this site has it all!

 

Leave a Reply

