Day 7: The Messy Bun + Why I Want to Become More of a Minimalist

So for Day 7 of the 30-Day Hair Challenge I “tackled” the Messy Bun.  It was really very straight forward, but I wanted to take the time to go through the tutorial because so many more complicated hairstyles incorporate the Messy Bun.

The trick to this hairstyle (as I found out by watching numerous tutorials) is to use two hair elastics.

The end result:

messybun

Here is the link that provides a tutorial on 2 different ways to do the messy bun if you’re going to do it on someone else’s hair, and a second link that breaks it down if you want to do it on yourself for some totally stylin’ mom-hair!

Also, I came across some staggering statistics today on the amount of excess we have here in America, and it really hit home.  This has been something that has been heavy on my heart lately, as I have been feeling suffocated by all of the clutter in my life.

I have been slowly whittling away at the junk in our house, but somehow it always finds a way to creep back in, especially after birthdays, holidays, etc.  I am trying to force myself to be a little more brutal and get rid all of the STUFF we just don’t use! The goal is to get back to the bare minimum of what we NEED so I can then focus on what’s important: following hard after God and spending time with family.  And hopefully this will cut back on the time spent cleaning as well, because who really LIKES to clean?  Not this girl.

Wish me luck!  I may have a rummage sale in my future…

Katie

Leave a Reply

