Day 14: French Fishtail Braid

I must admit, when I first saw this braid, waaaay back when I started the 30 Days of Hair Challenge, I was intimidated.  I remember watching the video and thinking to myself that there was NO WAY I would ever be able to do this braid!  I did have to bribe my kids with phone time so they would let me practice on their hair-but it was worth it!  After multiple attempts over multiple days, it finally came together quite nicely!

french fishtail

You can see how the French Fishtail really steps it up a little bit from the Fishtail (which I also think is adorable-and easier!).  The hardest part was getting the stranding good and tight so that it would stay-you really have to pay attention to hand placement!  I had to watch the tutorial multiple times just to study her hands.

Here is a later attempt, taken after the first photo, where I started the braid up a little bit higher on the head and got the stranding a bit tighter:

french fisthail2

A little work-but well worth the effort!  Happy Braiding!

Katie

 

Leave a Reply

