Day 17: Bohemian Braid

So somehow that Bohemian Braid that I had wanted to do disappeared into the Pinterest abyss.  I swear I pinned it, but apparently not?  It has also disappeared (mysteriously, I might add) from Pinterest altogether.

One funny thing about Bohemian Braids: there are many of them. And they’re all done differently.  Which makes sense, I guess, when you look up the definition of ‘bohemian’ (which I did):

a person, as an artist or writer, who lives and acts free of regard for conventional rules and practices.

Just replace ‘person’ with ‘braid’, and there you go.  The Bohemian Braid is a wild, free flowing (read ‘messy’) and unconventional braid.

Even though I didn’t get to do the Bohemian Braid I originally planned, I did find a pretty cool replacement.

bohemian braid

If you watch the tutorial, you’ll see she does two braids on each side, and braids the first braid into the second.  If you do it that way, make sure you start the first braid low enough so it blends into the second.  The first time I did this hairstyle I did it just as the tutorial showed; the second time I omitted the first braids and just did the side French braids.  In my opinion, it turned out just as good the second time as it did the first (and took a LOT less time)!  Just remember to “pancake” the braids for optimum results.

Good luck!

Katie

Leave a Reply

